A digital painting of Heisei era Godzilla, by Cheung Chung Tat
Heisei Godzilla by Cheung Chung Tat

Earlier this year, I watched all the Heisei era Godzilla movies as part of a bigger, less-organized desire to make my way through the entire series and a bunch of other kaiju-centric media.

I’m going to post my “reviews”1 for each movie individually over the next few days, but here is my ranking for the series, with links to each review added as I post them:

Heisei Godzilla Movies, Ranked!

  1. Godzilla vs Mechagodzilla 2
  2. Godzilla vs Destoroyah
  3. Godzilla vs Biollante
  4. Return of Godzilla
  5. Godzilla vs King Ghidorah
  6. Godzilla vs Spacegodzilla
  7. Godzilla and Mothra: Battle for Earth

1. These aren’t really reviews, more like the kind of excited, rambling nonsense I’d likely spew from the backseat on the way home if you were unfortunate enough to take me out to the movie theater.